Testimonials

Great testimonials provided by some of our satisfied clients.

testimonials

I just want to tell that how happy I was when I received the contractor license. I could not have it without the help of Phil. Phil helped me from beginning till end. He is really an agency whom people need to know about CSLB laws and regulations. Other school tried to charge a lot of money and they had no information return. Whereas, Phil knows exactly what you need in order to apply for examination. Second thing, I would suggest anyone who wish to study for the exam. Crash course could help you a bit but don’t trust them. I failed exam two times..so sad. But the truth is Phil’s examprep is excellent. I studied page by page and did all the online test until I got 90%, only then, I passed the exam. Phil’s study is really worth to buy and to study. I am not a native speaker. English is my second language. The study guide really help me. Finally, Phil is real fast. He will reply to you right away. He is really responsible for what he takes. I am glad to get to know him, not only this time for my license, but I believe he will continue being a good friend and helper for all who really need to obtain a contractor license.

Thank you so much Phil. Phuoc Le, San Diego.  9/25/2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Phil,

I just received my General B construction license and I wanted to personally thank you and show my appreciation for your kind help during the time I was completing my application. I do have a bunch of friends who are considering to get their contractors license and I’ll make sure to advise them to use your courses. Once again thanks for all you’ve done for me.

Best regards, Kaveh Haddadi 1021980  1/10/2017

______________________________________________________________________

Phil, Thank you for the great study kits. As well as the help with the app review and questions. Pass both law/ trade today. Thanks again. Adam S. 12/2/16

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Yelp Review: Justin J. Brentwood, CA
5.0 Star rating 10/10/2016

Phil is amazing. I was having to get my business up and running and was having a few problems. I then called and spoke to Phil and he went way beyond what I could ask for. He took my info and was able to take care of my situation and now I am up and running thanks to him. Thank you Phil for all your help and support.


Yelp Review: Max L. Albany, CA
5.0 Star rating 10/7/2016

Phil has been a great help to me getting all my paperwork in order and he put my mind at ease when it came time to submit everything. I wasn’t worried that I had forgotten anything and he alerted me when everything was filed with the CSLB as well as when they approved my license. I would recommend his services to anyone who wants to focus on their craft and let someone else handle the bureaucracy.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yelp Review:  Linda W. S. Pasadena, CA
5.0 Star rating 8/13/2016

Erroneouly assuming that we needed so much more paperwork than was actually required we spent months attempting to assemble the paperwork necessary to have our son replace his father as the RMO of our family corporation.One day while trying to navigate the CSLB requirements we happened upon Phil’s website. We emailed him all the info we had compiled and within a day he distilled it down to three pieces of paper (the proper forms and a letter)! We signed where indicated and sent them back to him to deliver to the CSLB. The hard part was waiting over a month for CSLB to fully process our application. Thanks to Phil our son is now our RMO. So simple and so inexpensive. Worth every penny!!!! Thank you, Phil!!!!!!!
As a side note: A fellow contractor decided to save the minimal and extremely reasonable fee Phil charges and assembled his own paperwork to have his son replace him as RMO. He mailed the papers he compiled to CSLB the same time we sent ours to Phil. It has now been three months with much back and forth with CSLB asking for revisions and rewrites and still no approval. And to think, a mere $125 would have saved him all this anquish!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yelp Review:  Erik J. Truckee, CA
5.0 star rating 7/12/2016

I would have to say that 3 weeks probably would NOT be enough time to absorb all the info in the Excavating and Paving book as well as the Law book and Trade book for anyone not able to adjust one’s work schedule to allow a primary focus on studying like I did.

There was a lot of material in the E & P book that I ended up not needing for the state test, but I’m such a geek that I actually enjoyed studying and learning the material. The middle school down the road from my house is having their entry and parking lot upgraded, so I was sneaking down after hours checking out the surveying stakes and laths, the grader, backhoe, loader, water truck, and track hoe. I could see their progress from day to day and know how it all works! Very fun and will be useful for me. Also, the time spent learning to read, understand and not be intimidated by the plansets for subdivision work paid off handsomely during the exam. I didn’t panic and just read the plans, so was able to answer the related questions on the exam.

The online flashcards were great! I don’t recall where I came across this, but somewhere I heard to just do practice exams over and over again so that when taking the tests the facts and info will click. That was very true. After my passing both my trade and law exams I talked to a guy who had failed his law exam for the second time. I asked him if he had taken a school, and he said he’d taken two different ones and still failed. He said that neither of those schools had the online practice exams. I highly recommend the Contractors License Service with their online exam simulations.

True or not, the recommendations to get at least 90% on all the online exam simulations prior to taking the exams put into my head that I’d need 90% to pass the state exams. That gave me the motivation I needed to “keep after it” even when I was tired, my brain felt like a bowl of cold oatmeal, and I so badly just wanted to quit studying. A little fear and slight panic can be a good thing!! The Exam Prep Course gave a lot of confidence while taking the actual state exams.

Overall, there was sooo much valuable information that I will definitely be able to put to use right away.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yelp Review:   Daniel M. Burns, TN
5.0 star rating 6/22/2016

Found the service great for consultation, helping fill out the forms, and application processing and fees for the CSLB. Also was great help when having questions regarding the study material as they responded very quickly with answers. Without their help I could see this taking many months of trail and error. Thanks Again

I want to thank Phil for helping me out passing the C-6 exam. His study material really works. I had failed the exam the first try through study material I purchased from another company and was worried I was never going to pass it. Second try I decided to purchase material from Phil and really worked. Victor V. 4/20/16
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hello Phil, just wanted use this opportunity to thank you for the useful study guides that you created.  I used those to study and pass my HVAC license test. Your material was very helpful and I am so grateful that I purchased it. Jasmin I. 11/20/15

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Anyone seeking to get their contractor’s license must get in contact with Phil and obtain his study material. What I liked most about his literature is that it’s easy to understand. I am all about finding what works and capitalizing on it. Phil found a system that works (I passed on the first)

So after some back and forth with the CSLB I finally got my B license, your system was an integral part of that process. So thank you very much for your help. Most of the missteps were from me filling out the app incorrectly.

I passed my exam first attempt during my last visit to California and just received my license. I wanted to thank you for all your help. From the study material to the app review to the quick response to emails and questions all was greatly appreciated and extremely helpful.

I will definitely use more of your services in the future and will definitely recommend the Contractors License Guru to anyone looking to become licensed in California. Thanks again, John R., 3/24/15

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Continued from main page-bottom…And I will be honest, I studied at the very last minute- only having 3 days to get it all down. I also love his questions and answer sheets! More than half of my study time was going over his practice test which I personally think is the KEY to passing the exam- read, understand why, and narrow down correct answer. We communicated a lot via email and he is very responsive- no “2 to 3 days to reply” for this guy! This is a terrific start to scale my business. I can do jobs over $500 now! Thank you Phil. – David N. 2/1/15
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Phil helped me make sense of all the little things you need to know that no one tells you. Its like having a direct link to the behind the scenes of the CSLB. Well worth the money. He went above and beyond. Would have paid double! Thanks Phil! Ken A.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Guru, I just wanted to let you know I passed the exam on the first try! Your online practice materials were extremely helpful. Cheers. Sean A. 9/10/14
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hi Phil,

First, I want to say thank you for the value added support of counseling and original application review in preparation for submitting to the CSLB. This was educational, stress relieving and efficient.

Second, I would like to comment that the course study materials/Exam prep package for both Law and Trade (C-10 Electrical) Exams were both excellent. The course videos, study book and internet resources were structured very well, easy to follow and allowed me to maximize study time while being a husband to my wife, a father to my twin 2.5 year old daughters and also working.

Third, I was able to pass both exams on my first scheduled testing date May 30! The CSLB also had received prior to or on May 30, all required paper work filed, bond posted, fees paid, workers comp filed, DOJ/FBI background check completed, cleared and results received back to CSLB, asbestos cert signed and filed, etc. Cameron H. Elk Grove 6/23/14

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I want to thank you for your pointers regarding the CSLB. In the end I was encouraged to submit documentation on behalf of Dave including pictures. They received a 2” full notebook. Dave’s experience was verified. It was a great success and largely because of your help in the very beginning. Julie K. 6/17/14
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
I can’t begin to tell you how much I appreciate your help and patience! Believe me, there aren’t many guys out there like you that are willing to answer questions in the way you do. I have gotten more information from you than I have from licensed contractors themselves.

These guys are great, did what they said, I passed the tests the first time and they made sure my post test paper work was done right the first time. No extra charges, no bull. Ken R. 3/20/14
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hi Phil, Passed both the C10 and Law today using your study materials. They were perfect. Thanks again. ContractorTalk Client, 4/24/14

I wanted to say what an outstanding job Phil did in helping me submit and pass my contractors exam the first time. Phil does an amazing job and has some of the best customer service I have ever received. I highly recommend Phil’s services and don’t know how I would have been able to understand the application process without him. Seth F.

I just received my c-33 license from the state and wanted to give a shout out to Phil for all his help. He prepared my application and I purchased my study materials through him as well. I had some issues with the law when I was younger and was worried about the whole process. Phil was always timely in answering any questions I had and was the ultimate professional throughout the entire process. It went off without a hitch and I passed my tests first try. I highly recommend to everyone looking to get their license to consider using Phil’s services. Thanks again Phil for all your help. Your service was worth every penny. -Nick D.

I wanted to say what an outstanding job Phil did in helping me submit and pass my contractors exam the first time. Phil does an amazing job and has some of the best customer service I have ever received. I highly recommend Phil’s services and don’t know how I would have been able to understand the application process without him. Seth F. 7/25/12

License Guru is AWESOME!! By far the best service out there. He stayed in touch to see how things were going, was always there when I had questions, was helpful and straight up honest. I wasted my time with OTHER guys before so don’t bother with anyone else. He did my app & study materials. Doug K. 7/12/12

Thank you Phil, It was very helpful, and we appreciate your quick response. We definitely recommend you to every body. Nobutoshi T. 6/4/12

“GURU” helped get my application thru without any problems and with the help of the study materials, I felt very confident going into the test. I passed the test and Phil has kept in touch with the me and the board for the remainder of the process. Thanks so much! Jeff T. 5/23/12

Anyone that has ever battled with never ending challenge of obtaining a contractors license from the state of California knows how difficult it is to find someone to help with putting a skilled professional entrepreneur to work legitimately. We at Crown Pool and Spa Construction Inc were grateful to have found the extremely useful help from Phil at Contractors License Service with our journey in obtaining our very own contractor’s license. We recommend his services to anyone out there, not only was he knowledgeable in all aspects of the application process, but when we first contacted him in November of 2012, he helped us achieve our goal on January 8, 2013. Thanks a million. Crown Pool and Spa Construction, CSL # 979965. 1/8/13

Clearly, you understand all of the fine nuances in obtaining professional licenses, in addition to recognizing the importance of providing first-rate customer service. Not only did you supply me with regular, timely status updates, you also made it a point to use proactive measures to ensure any issues were swiftly and successfully resolved. I was always self-assured that you were committed to this process, and would not be satisfied until such time as we received our contractor’s license.

Having worked with other ineffective, unprofessional, unknowledgeable licensing companies, I can honestly assert that you are the real deal. It is my pleasure to recommend your services to any individual, or company, that is applying for a professional license or certification. Your outstanding service exceeded any expectations I might have had from the start.

Again, I thank you for your superior, professional support and will not hesitate to contact you with any future licensing needs.

Sincerely,
Erik D. Hess

From the beginning, I was impressed with your firm understanding of the licensing process and your detailed follow-though. My previous experience with similar companies was less than satisfactory, thus I was apprehensive about utilizing another licensing service. I am happy to say that any trepidation I might have felt was quickly replaced with confidence and the secure belief that a true professional was handling my application. You delivered on your promise, and that speaks volumes.

Clearly, you understand all of the fine nuances in obtaining professional licenses, in addition to recognizing the importance of providing first-rate customer service. Not only did you supply me with regular, timely status updates, you also made it a point to use proactive measures to ensure any issues were swiftly and successfully resolved. I was always self-assured that you were committed to this process, and would not be satisfied until such time as we received our contractor’s license. Having worked with other ineffective, unprofessional, unknowledgeable licensing companies, I can honestly assert that you are the real deal. It is my pleasure to recommend your services to any individual, or company, that is applying for a professional license or certification. Your outstanding service exceeded any expectations I might have had from the start. Again, I thank you for your superior, professional support and will not hesitate to contact you with any future licensing needs. Erik D. Hess

Phil was professional, prompt and really knew the licensing system well. We needed to be up and licensed fast and he did on time and as promised.Tom Dyze — Walbridge

Amazing service and pricing! The owner pays great attention to detail and sincerely cares about the work his business does. Very professional and highly recommended. Gary Excellent service, would recommend the service to others and use them again. Cansino Electric, Inc.

I just passed my C-39 exam thanks to the study material from contractors license service the material was very similar to the state exam and the service is great. you can get answers to any of the questions you have involving the laws on becoming a contractor in california and plus other companies which I used before had the same study material and was much more expensive so I highly recommend this business for all your needs in becoming a contractor. John Baker

Phil was great! He answered ALL of my questions. My cousin did his own application and paperwork, he had to redo it three times and it took him over a year to get his license. I used Phil and got mine in 4 months wothout any hiccups! Highly recommend! Rob

Wow, did our license turn out to be complicated… My first license was so much easier to procure. I am grateful to have had your assistance along the way; just to have some idea what to expect went a long way towards our comfort. Thanks again for all your efforts, especially all your after business hours returned calls. I certainly would be happy to recommend your services. Bill Avant

Phil at CLS is awesome! All calls answered or returned within 5 minutes. He followed through with everything he said. Hand walks your License app into the state and has resources far reaching that helped us save time and money. Our requests were numerous and often needy and Phil was there for us all the way. I will use him again and highly recommend! Russell Stone

Phil was great! He always answered the phone or replied right away. He got me through the process without a hitch. Jim
“Amazing service and pricing! The owner pays great attention to detail and sincerely cares about the work his business does. Very professional and highly recommended.” Gary K.

Thanks Phil. The support you provided me with my C-20 HVAC was fantastic. After going through California Contractors License School and getting burned three times with their bogus crash course & telling me to try to memorize 400 questions, I came to you. Your materials were just what I needed to get my C-20. I studied the materials for 10 hrs, took the test and passed with flying colors. I cant thank you enough for sending the stuff so quick. I will be referring everyone I know that is getting their license to go to you. Kevin P.

Thanks again Phil. It was great working with you. The study guides that you endorse are so good it’s not even funny! There were only a few questions on either test that I was clueless on- the rest I had either seen before (verbatim) or were similar in context to others I had studied. Overall, I am very pleased with all of your help. Hopefully I will get some referrals coming your way! Take care, Brian M.

Contractor’s License Service provides valuable service at a reasonable price. They were able to provide insights as to the most common application mistakes and help us get to the correct personnel within the CSLB when we had questions. This saved us a lot of time and frustration; we know, because we went through the application process several years ago for another legal entity and the process didn’t go as well as when we had the assistance of Contractor’s License Service.
I want to thank you for the assistance with the process. I couldn’t have done it without you. The study materials were great – passed both tests, no problem. Pat B.

Law and General B. The study materials were a huge help. I thought I was good to go without them but after taking the test I realized I wouldn’t have been. I learned quite a bit especially in regard to the law portion. Thanks again for getting these to me so quickly and at the last minute. I will definitely be refering some business your way. Darin F.

After researching and looking into applying for my General B Contractors License, I found the study materials listed on the CSLB website were not only multiple complicated books but they were expenseive, too. I did some research and found Phil’s website. Not only did Phil help me with my application but he also offered study materials, and both at a reasonable fee. The study materials were very easy to follow and gave me the confidence going into the test. My application was approved and I passed both exams; Law and General B, on the first try. I recommend Phil’s application assistance and study program to anyone who is going to get a contractors license. Eddie W.

Mark B says: Aced them both in a total of 2 hrs…the study material was great and your help was invaluable…Thanks for all your help in answering my questions before I purchased your study materials. I passed both tests today and wanted to let you know your materials were invaluable in my test preparations effort. Specifically the addendum’s at the end of the law and trade books, there were at least 20 questions from each on my tests today.

I just wanted to give License Guru some much needed THANKS! I passed both my Law/Business and “B” test this morning. I used only the study materials that he recommended and couldn’t have asked for more. Thanks for being a great resource! Angel J.

I would simply like to let everyone know about my phenomenal experience with License Guru, Phil Cocciante. I was looking for assistance on my application for Original Contractor’s License and after searching the internet (google) for answers I finally came upon contractorlicenseservice.com. After visiting his site I was still a little skeptical, then found his postings at ContractorTalk.com. After reading through many of them I was confident he was the man with the answers. After I emailed him at approx 6PM PST he emailed me back at 930PM PST. That’s what I call service! I wasn’t expecting an answer ’til the next day or even the next, let alone from the man himself. He answered every last question I had and gave me exactly what I was looking for, knowledge and experience. All that at an unheard of speed. Worth every penny. I’ll definitely be referring him to friends and working with him again. Jon W.

Thank you for handling my C-10 License Application in such an efficient manner.

You have been a pleasure to work with. Tim T.